Home » Uncategorized » Let the Tidying Begin

Let the Tidying Begin

In February I was preparing for my fortieth birthday bash. The basement was a hot priority for me to organize. There was room for kids or adults to hang out but I wanted it to represent me. Clean it up and organize it to make it me.

“Many people get the urge to clean up when under pressure, such as just before an exam. But this urge doesn’t occur because they want to clean their room. It occurs because they need to put “something else” in order.”

Marie Kondo, The Life-Changing Magic of Tiding Up

To begin I thought I would move a futon, so I had to pull out the stuff from underneath it and behind it. The futon and the stuff was strategically placed in the middle of the room. Then I wanted to move a shelf. So all books and items needed to be moved off so I could move the shelf easier. Into the middle of the room it all went. And this continued until I was bombarded with STUFF. Stuff everywhere. I couldn’t walk. Absolutely overwhelmed!!!
It occurred to me that I could not just put this stuff back. This was way too much stuff.

wp-1471544118261.jpg

“Visible mess helps distract us from the true source of the disorder.”

Marie Kondo, The Life-Changing Magic of Tiding Up

Where do I begin to fix this mess. I got some tea and sat and stared at it for a while. Maybe even an hour. Then, I figured piece by piece I was going to pull this together. One van load, and not even a full van load, was given away to Salvation Army. Maybe two garbage bags of garbage. There is still a long way to go but I need help to get through the rest of it. To clear my mind and narrow down what to get rid of.

wp-1471544413210.jpg

“Putting things away creates the illusion that the clutter problem has been solved.”

Marie Kondo, The Life Changing Magic of Tiding Up

Now, months later the clutter has returned. Not like the mess I created. But there is clearly still too much stuff in my life. A new way of living is in order. Please follow me on my journey as I embark on purging and decluttering my home with the help of Marie Kondo and her book, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up as well as the Waldorf/Anthroposophy philosophy on homemaking.

Find me on Beautiful You. Beautiful Home on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

