Home » Uncategorized » The Plot of Your Life

The Plot of Your Life

Do you ever look at your life and wonder where your current events fit into the plot of your life? That is where I am at these days. Mostly because I began writing my memoir Sunlight in 2010 and felt it didn’t have an ending. So I have been working out the plot and realize I still need the thematic significance, character emotional development and the dramatic action according to The Plot Whisper: Secrets of Story Structure Any Writer Can Master.

I am trying to live my life just as a normal person may do but I can’t help but see things unfolding that fall into this universal story structure. It has me worried sometimes because as close as I come to the drama of the thematic significance I think to myself it is still going to get a bit worse than this in the dramatic action section.

One really doesn’t know where they are in their story until they can look back and reflect on it. So, I could be just in a bump on the road creating the plot. Wowzers. I hope not.

“For in writing we live life twice: once in the experience, and again in recording and reflecting upon our experience.”

Christina Baldwin in  her book Storycatcher

The first part of my book is about me figuring out who I am, what my purpose in life is. Mixed in there is the drama of my marriage. How it isn’t working. That is the part that still needs to be played out. That needs to be finalized so I can finish my book. We are in a real glitch at the moment.

“When we look back this moment becomes a teaching tale for how we live with experience and ride it down to wisdom.”

Christina Baldwin in her book Storycatcher

If I am lucky we are at the dramatic action and it is almost over. Pray it be so.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Plot of Your Life

  1. Glad you shared your thoughts. I, too, have been working on my memoir, “Under the Birch Tree,” for. . . well, a while. And though I’m confident in my beginning and my ending, it’s the middle that isn’t quite there. And that’s the plot, isn’t it? I “stray from the main theme” as told to me by a professional. And again, a plot problem. But I reflect on writing as an exercise to make sense out of my experiences through words. If only I could make sense out of it, I could see my plot. So I keep writing and watch the plot unfold.

Leave a Reply

