Home » My Writing Life » 4 Lessons Learned: Week Two

4 Lessons Learned: Week Two

Welcome to my new website.  I had to change it because no one could see my links.  Also, I was needing a change.  So enjoy and if anything isn’t working or you would like to see something please let me know.
Also, I have two new tabs above.  I thought I would include some of my favourite writing resources and a section for my speeches that I write regarding memoir writing.  Can you tell I love this topic!
  1. Point of view.  I know I have talked about this before on my blog but I really think it is beneficial.  I wrote this week about an episode of my running away when I was five.  I wrote it first as an adult looking back and then instinctively I wondered what that five-year old girl was thinking.  Then I just wrote.  I wrote from my little voice in the past.  I got way more out of the memory that way.  I will share it with you tomorrow.
  2. There were times when I was writing that I wondered why have I kept this memory?  What is it’s significance?  What lesson does it hold or message?  We need to reflect on our past to make sense of it.  Tie memories together to see the bigger picture.  I am still working on this in regards to this project.  Some memories I can make peace with as I write them, finding an understanding.  Other memories lay like loose pieces of a puzzle on the table.  I haven’t found how they connect to the larger picture yet.
  3. I have noticed that I have almost no pictures of us the year we left my dad, our first year in Saskatoon.  However, that year my memories are strong.  I wonder why this is?
  4. Yesterday I laughed uncontrollably in the kitchen.  My whole family was up there and I did something quirky as I am known to do.  My eldest caught it and I broke out in laughter.  You know, the kind of laughter where you can’t stop laughing even though you know the amount you are laughing really outweighs how funny the situation really is.  I just laughed and laughed and laughed.  Afterwards, as I moved away from my teenagers in the dining room to the kitchen I realized my belly had quite a workout.  Then I heard the muffled sound of my daughters saying in astonishment, “We never see mom do that.”  It hit me.  I don’t laugh.  I chuckle in bits and pieces but I actually think it has been years, five or more, since I have actually laughed so hard that I have wanted to pee my pants.  I use to laugh all the time as a child.  What happened? Life?  Writing these memories out has made me so happy.  These last two weeks have left me feeling a deep sense of joy and contentment.  It feels so good to actually feel happy.  I didn’t realize that I wasn’t feeling this way until now that I am.  I don’t understand the cause exactly but I sure do hope it brings about more laughter!  I want more deep belly laughs.  My abs could use the workout.

PS:  My sister owns Sunstone Creations.  You will see her label on many of my pictures. I am so lucky to have a professional photographer in my back pocket …  well, she lives on the other side of the country but what is space in our digital age.

4 thoughts on “4 Lessons Learned: Week Two

  1. Great post. Oh so GLAD for that belly laugh….and oh so sad that you haven’t them ALL ALONG! Here’s hoping for their strong and sure return.

    Love what you’ve said here about POV. When I was writing Mostly Happy it came out in MANY STYLES – some things in 1st person and some in 3rd. Stayed that way for a long while.

    Feeling myself NEARING something LIKE all the bits needed for a true first draft… I went back to the beginning and wrote the first 100 pages BOTH ways. As well as I could… BOTH WAYS.

    Then, one snowy day, I put on my best “professional writer” outfit and took these drafts to … the library. I sat myself down at a table in the corner and read both drafts as though I was the Writer in Residence, trying to support an emerging writer….

    The first person version had the most … JUICE and hence… the book is in first person. But boy howdy did I EVER find important info by writing it in third. I THINK I proceeded to do each chapter both ways just to see what I could find.

    No WONDER it took me six years to write the book, eh?

    Heh heh.

    Hmm…. I think I shall have to do a post on POV over on my own blog.
    One of these days ;-)

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    go easy -p

    • I have your book on my Christmas list!

      Editing is the hardest part in my opinion. I have been editing Sunlight for two years. It is really challenging to sit down and read each word with a critical eye.

      Your work paid off! Winning awards … doesn’t that make you feel like it was all worth it!

      • Hey Marlene – thanks so much for the kind words… the awards DID feel pretty groovy – heh heh.

        Mostly I am GLAD GLAD GLAD that I really stuck in there with the editing. The book is much tighter and stronger for the effort. I worked long on my own and then another year with my editor – the fabulous Harriet Richards. There were tough days but in the end I really felt that I had done my BEST to tell the story as clean and clear as I could.

        I’m honoured to hear that you have Bean and the gang on your Christmas list.

        It’s funny… I think that I find each stage along the way “THE HARDEST” – meaning now that I’m working on a new book I feel like this first rough rough draft, creating from thin air stage is the HARDEST. When I get to editing I will think THAT is the hardest…. how soon we forget the agonies of each stage and only remember the joys… I wonder if it’s like child birth and child rearing ;-)

        It’s nice getting to know you out here in the blogosphere.

        Good luck with the editing work. I send you “sharp/smart/kind eye” vibes as you go over the MSS. And I wish you those great moments when you go … “Heyyyyyy that’s pretty good stuff… if I do say so m’self!” ;-)

        go easy -p

Leave a Reply

