Home » Diary of A Memoir Writer » Diary of a Memoir Writer: Falling off Routine

Diary of a Memoir Writer: Falling off Routine

My week fell apart.  I don’t know how long it will take me to ensure I DO NOT LET ANYTHING INTERRUPT MY MORNING time to write.

Last weekend I suffered with a sore back that left me unable to focus to do anything.  I couldn’t stand, sit, lay down, walk, nothing.  So I did not do much writing on the weekend.  Only about a half hour each day.  Things didn’t change much during the week.  My back got better but not my writing.

My little girl was having issues wanting to go to school so I had to stress myself out about it for three days and two nights.  I only wrote for a half hour each of those days as well.  Each day was about 800 to !000 words per day.  Not my goal.  I feel bad because I put some of my enthusiasm at the back burner.  I wasn’t aware what I wrote from day to day.  I carried nothing.  I hope to be done this draft by the middle to end of December.  It will be interesting for me to see what I wrote during this past week.  I won’t re-read any of it until then.  Except for the blurbs I throw in posts.

Well my week sort of went in a different direction from last week.  Which is kind of a bummer cause last week I was on a high with my writing and remembering.  I was so complete.  Joyful.  Delight filled me every day.  This week I just ushered chaos in the door without even thinking.  Well that guest just took over!

One strange thing I noticed is my desire to drink.  I woke up last Saturday smelling red wine in the air.  Now it was eight o’clock in the morning.  No one was drinking and especially since I fell asleep in my little girl’s room there was no wine in there.  So this was just a bit of my imagination.

When I was on my writing high I did open a bottle of wine and drank a glass while I prepared supper.  I did not have a glass everynight but most nights.  This alone is strange behaviour for me.  Is writing This Old House causing me to want to drink?  I could understand it if I felt upset and had tough memories to recall but I was deleriously happy.  Why should I choose the bottle?

I only drink about a half-dozen times a year.  Never to get drunk.  A couple of glasses at my husband’s work function or maybe my husband and I will think some wine at supper would be nice and we will have a glass or two.  Not a big drinker.  Well now I smell wine all the time.  Even last night.  I am watching Eat, Pray, Love and all of a sudden I turn and look at my husband saying excitedly, “I smell red wine.  Do you want some?”  We didn’t have any but this behaviour of mine is most puzzling.  Is this memoir writing blog going to turn into a How Marlene Became An Alcoholic?

K, in summary I only wrote for a half hour each day this week.  Pulling in roughly 800 to 1000 words per day.  Not ideal but I am glad I still wrote.  I could have abandoned it all together which is typical of me when I don’t meet my expectations.  I still have some flow going.  And the five glasses of wine I had last night during supper left me still drunk (Metaphorically, I wasn’t actually drunk last night) with excitement this morning.

top photo courtesy of Sunstone Creations

bottom photo is mine

6 thoughts on “Diary of a Memoir Writer: Falling off Routine

  1. The thing is: you’re writing every day. Even if it were just one sentence–I’d say that’s something to be proud of. One of my favorite authors Lidia Yuknavitch says writing your memoir is an incredible emotional toll (my words not hers). In her words: “Writing my memoir nearly killed me.”

    I drank last night for the first time in months and months. I had 3 pints of beer. I threw up in the bathroom of the pizza place I was at, smoked a cigarette which I had been clean of for a long time, and pissed off my boyfriend by being so obnoxious. Sometimes when things are going well for me I kick the props out from under me just to be able to build myself back up again since thats what I’m so used to.

    Nice pic of the glass of red wine. Nice touch.

    • You make me so happy to know that once again I am not alone in this universe. Others out there are going through something similar to me.
      I sure do hope things worked out with you and your beau. We all need to be obnoxious once in a while don’t we? Sounds like you needed a release and I hope you got it.

  2. Glad to hear that you kept writing… YAY!

    I do that same thing…something causes me to slip off the routine and then….doooooowwwwwwn I go.

    I’m workin’ on it.

    I really REALLY know that I feel better as a human being if I do my writing hours.
    I swear by them.
    They hold the dread at bay.

    go easy -p

Leave a Reply

