Home » Homeschooling/Child-Led Learning » Homeschooling Conflict

Homeschooling Conflict

Homeschooling this year is a struggle.  I feel faced with all my fears of traditional thinking versus what I feel is right.  There is a battle going on.  The result is me constantly contradicting myself with my children because I am struggling with these notions within myself.  I feel I need to get grounded.

Both my girls lack any goal or intention for the year.  My eldest, Sherese, who left school in her Grade Twelve year is doing nothing but watching movies all day, sleeping and announcing she feels sick whenever I ask her for something that might involve some motivation.  But then she will ask to go and see a movie in the evening or hang out with friends all weekend.

I know kids and families need time to adjust to this new way of learning when leaving the traditional school system but this seems particularly challenging.  So I went to my library to get some support from popular homeschooling books out there.  The first one just came in and it is titled If Learning is so Natural, Why am I going to School?  by Andrew Nikiforuk.  It opens with this quote and I felt compelled to share it.

“We need better government, no doubt about it.  But we also need better minds, better friendships, better marriages, better communities.  We need persons and households that do not have to wait upon organizations but can make necessary changes in themselves on their own.”

–  Wendell Berry

Leave a Reply

