Home » On Memoir Writing » Memoir Writing – Discover Your Life – Archetypes

Memoir Writing – Discover Your Life – Archetypes

In my post on memoir writing last week I asked you to write about one moment your life tha significantly impacted you.  Now I am going to prose we dissect it.

I would like us to pull it apart to see what kind of archetypes lay lurking in side that little story clip.

Archetypes are characters.  Are you the class clown, the advocate or lawyer (you don’t actually have to hold these roles in society to have this characteristic), the muse, the mother (with or without children), or perhaps a  journalist.  (I always say my Teela is a journalist because whenever something new happens she tells everyone about this ground breaking discovery!) There are so many more.  Click here to read more online and see which ones resonate the most with you.

I consider Caroline Myss the expert on archetypes.  She wrote a book called Sacred Contracts and I highly recommend you picking it up sometime if you want to learn more.  It can offer great insight into your characters, and seeing yourself in another light.  I use her definitions of archetypes to name the ones I see in my moment that I wrote about last week.

Here is my dissection of my story:

I was a master at bike riding. I didn’t see how it was possible for anyone to be better at it than me. “

  • in these two sentences I believed I had super powers.  I was strong and powerful and in tune with the world around me.  I held the Warrior archetype

A feeling washed over me, I knew it through-and-through, that my life was here for a purpose. I stood there on the half-paved road in front of my house absorbing this knowledge like light from the sky. A gift. It became part of my being, my blood. “

  • in this section I fall under the Messiah archetype.  I feel a divine purpose and become obsessed over it for the years to come – and presently so.
  • In Caroline’s book she describes the Messiah as this “Its subtle expression, however, is far more common and more difficult to identify as a personal pattern.  People can become obsessed about their spiritial purpose, convinced that God needs them to do something.”
  • I can’t say that I feel God needs me to do something.  That statement does not cater to my spiritual beliefs.  However, I do feel called to do something.  But because I believe the divine is in each of us and connects us in some energy network rather than an outside force called God, I don’t relate to her definition.  This helps me to feel less crazy but perhaps I am anyways:)

Last but not least is the whole section.  The fact that I write this out is part of the Storyteller in me.  Often when I talk to friends I share with them stories that will help them or inspire them.  I convey and interpret life through stories.

Now, feel free to share your dissection or story of significance:)

Leave a Reply

