Home » Sunlight » A Bit of Sunlight – the first 30 pages

A Bit of Sunlight – the first 30 pages

Well everyone, this is a bit more than ‘A Bit of Sunlight’.  I have posted the first 30 pages into a flip book that you can read online.

I have had it edited over by three friends and I was just told that there are still some grammatical errors.  Never enough fresh eyes.  I am posting it despite my not having time to return and find those errors.  I will assure you that Sunlight will be edited by a professional before it is published.

My intention is to offer a taste of it, to hear thoughts regarding flow, if you are attracted to the story at all, or anything else that pops up, even grammatical errors.

Click here to read the first 30 pages.

M

9 thoughts on “A Bit of Sunlight – the first 30 pages

  1. This is a great way to showcase your writing. I didn’t have much time but when I saw your post I couldn’t wait to check it out. Only having time to read the first page or two, I did and am now planning to set aside time to read more. I love how your story begins. The forward, yes, but chapter one in general, at the table with your girls, feeling like you have to manage everyone’s emotions for the day…clearly you carry a heavy load. I’m sure most mother’s feel this way, I look forward to reading more about it. I am not a mother myself but I have a feeling reading your book will clue me into a thing or two about being one. I’m intruiged and your writing is good, it caught me.

    • Thank you Terah for your feedback. I am sorry my reply is so slow.
      I think this book Sunlight will tell you how not to be a mother. I still struggle with taking on to much but at least now I am aware of it.
      If you have time for more feedback I would really appreciate it however I know that a “30 page blog post” is a lot to take on.
      I am going to have this baby in an editors hands for September 1st. That’s my goal. This book is getting off my to-do list.

      • I was hoping you wouldn’t be put-off by my long responses and upfront comments, and luckily you are not! I welcome the same from you (long or short is fine, but honest comments are a must :)) I’m thrilled you will soon turn your book over to an editor, great work :)

      • Thank you so much:) I have 8 pages to edit every day until the end of the month. I am a little freaked out.

        Thank you for taking the time to read the chunk of writing. Much appreciated.

  2. Oh, and another thing I thought was interesting: the very first working title for my memoir was “Pretty in the Sunlight” which sort-of, kind-of referenced my struggle with body image and self-acceptance. I’ve been trying all these years to find my self pretty, even in the sunlight. Candlelight, sure, yeah, okay. But sunlight? What has our society done to us when a perfectly average girl feels insecure because she has a few minor flaws? When a girl can’t socialize outside in the sunlight and feels only comfortable in bar lighting?

    Just thoughts…

    • That is so neat that there was a similarity in titles. Great minds think alike:)

      Society does put so much pressure on us. Even simple things like not wanting anyone to see my untanned legs at the beginning of summer makes me self-conscious.

      I would always tell my husband to have dim lighting when we wanted to be intimate but then I realized, he has seen me a million times. He knows what I look like for better or worse so why do I keep hiding in the dark with him.

      I look forward to hearing more of your experiences in this. It is something a great many of us can relate too!

  3. Hi, Marlene! Neat format, and like Terah, I only had time to skim the first page or two but will definitely read it later and let you know what I think…like what I’ve read so far :) Jane

    • Thank you so much for being willing to take the time to give me some feed back. I would really appreciate it. I am determined to get this baby into an editors hands by September 1st. I am so excited to see the end is near!

      • I bet you are excited! I’ll take a closer look at it this weekend (so busy during the week) and email you if I have anything to add (though I’m sure it’s perfect :) ) Jane

Leave a Reply

