Home » My Writing Life » Right Here. Right Now.

Right Here. Right Now.

Whenever I post a  blog WordPress gives me a writing quote.  I am not sure if this happens to everyone or if it is just my template.  Regardless, the quote I received when I last posted has been ringing in my ears.  It went something like this “Blogging isn’t about writing, it is about reading blogs.”  I am not sure who the author is.  The words stuck into my mind not the name.

The quote was a jab at me.  It seemed to know my soft spot.  It seem to know that I worry I could be doing more.  Reading more blogs, writing more and, well, just doing more in my life professionally and personally.

Yesterday I went for a walk with my three-year old daughter.  She woke up at 6 o’clock in the morning so I had to put off writing for another day.  She kicked off her sandles and went running down a path on our back five acres.  I walked behind her and Chances, my dog, running around chasing birds of every kind.

All of a sudden I hear the wind brushing against my ear, the blades of grass rustling blade against blade and the sound of a young girl’s giggle in the distance.  I look to see how far away she is from me.  I catch the sun beaming off her blond hair as she runs down the path holding up her long red plaid night-dress so it won’t get wet in the dew.  I have a flash back of me as a young girl running to get clothes off the clothes-line in the back yard on an early summers morning and loving the feeling of the cool wet grass under my feet.  This moment is perfect.  Who cares about what I am not getting done.  I am right here, where I need to be, right now.

Leave a Reply

